My Guide to “How to Make Getting Robbed Half As Bad As It Could Have Been.”

Last month our house was robbed. The thief uprooted the pole from my son’s totem tennis in the backyard  and used it as a lever to prise open our ensuite window.  He then went on a merry spree, looting us of pretty much every possession worth a little money, and sometimes a lot.

I’m not going to bore the reader with the deep sense of loss we feel from the theft of jewellery passed down from departed grandparents; cherished gifts from loved ones, and mementos that might not have been worth much dollar-wise, but were rich in history. I won’t inflict upon you the devastation of losing our camcorder that held footage of our son from birth until his recent fifth birthday.

I can’t keep gnashing my teeth over the theft of our laptop that held every photo we had taken over the last five years: our wedding, son’s birth, landmarks and milestones and beyond, family holidays and events, etc.

The computer also held every word I had every written: stories, manuscript drafts, poetry, feature articles, over two hundred pieces of freelance client work, and all those half-finished works that you keep in your digital “bottom drawer”. The stories that you know aren’t quite there, but could be with a little spit and polish.

If you’re a writer and think about that for a minute or two, you’ll just about puke from the horror of it.

But, weren’t you backed up? I hear you ask. Yep. Faithfully, every couple of months. The bottom feeder stole our hard drive too.

I didn’t lose my words. They were stolen! By someone that I know will never even read them. Grrrrr!

And that’s enough of that from me.  I want the real guts of this post to be about the positives that you can pull from a negative. So, I’ll start with this:

Recently, someone mentioned that my faith in humanity must be destroyed more than usual. Interestingly, this experience has restored my faith in humanity. The outpouring of support, sincere wishes and genuine goodwill  that has been directed towards us from friends and family has been overwhelming.  It’s made us release how fortunate we are to have so many kind and caring people in our lives.  Bet the scumbag that robbed us doesn’t have a tenth as many good people in his.

Secondly, I want to share some lessons that I have learned from this experience.  So, here is my Guide to  “How to Make Getting Robbed Half As Bad As it Could Have Been.”

1.  Ladies and gentleman, do not keep all your jewellery in the one place. Sounds pretty obvious, huh? So many of us have our shiny things in a jewel box or wrap. In my case, I had one of those wooden wardrobe-style boxes.  I pretty much handed everything over on a platter.  Divide and scatter your jewellery. Get creative where you hide it. That way, if some of your bling goes missing, chances are pretty good they missed other hiding spots.

2.  Big money tins. You know the kind: they cost a couple of bucks from the Reject Shop, usually have an Aussie note printed  on the side, and you need a crowbar to hammer the bastard open.  Most people chuck all their loose change in them, but I do know some who stuff in a decent note every now and then.  We used ours to save our gold coins. It acted as our annual holiday fund. I had even decorated ours with palm trees and holiday slogans. Noone will get it if I hide it in the toilet, I reasoned, congratulating myself on my wile. The asshole came in through the ensuite window and probably used it as a footstool on the way down!  I actually laughed as I typed that, which is a good sign. Anyway, my advice: don’t have them or, if you do, hide them well or just use them for your silver.

3. Take photographs of all your insured possessions. Preferably with you holding or wearing them. Print them out and keep them in a folder attached to any receipts or valuation certificates. Scan them in to digital files as well. It makes things so much easier when it comes to processing your insurance claim. Insurance companies are not your friends! They will not make things easy, and they will not be flexible.

4. Also on insurance. If you have any pieces of jewellery that are especially valuable, list them as separate entities within your insurance contents. Check your policy and make sure this is the case.

5.  Any photographs or videos that you have stored in your mobile handsets that you want to keep, make sure you download them regularly. We lost a ton of footage and photos that meant so much to us, simply because we ‘never got round to’ downloading them. Ditto with the camcorder.  Learn from our complacency!

6.  Writing. We all know to back up our work, don’t we? Ok, make sure your hard drive is hidden somewhere creative, and not carelessly placed somewhere where it could be snatched if someone was so inclined. Better still, have two hard drives. That way if one is stolen, or malfunctions, there is a backup to your backup.  Other options include:

  • Using a storage Cloud.
  • Printing a hard copy of your work in progress as you go, and of course your completed work.
  • Email your work to yourself. That way you will always be able to access it.
  • Trawl through your sent items. It’s amazing what you can recover by way of attachments that you have sent to others.

All the above seems pretty obvious, and it’s hardly rocket science. But  it’s all the things I didn’t do that would have made such a difference.

Hopefully, this never happens to any of you, but if it does, make it hard for the mofo’s!

If you have any other hints or tips, please comment below so we can all benefit from the shared knowledge.

Happy writing, happy reading and, of course, happy days 🙂

Rebecca

About Rebecca Fraser

Rebecca Fraser is a full time copy and content writer and part time speculative fiction author based on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula. Her dark short stories, poems, and flash fiction have appeared in various anthologies, magazines and journals since 2007. Rebecca holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and a Certificate of Publishing (Copy Editing and Proofreading). To provide her muse with life’s essentials, she supplements by freelancing for the corporate world, however her true passion lies in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Guide to “How to Make Getting Robbed Half As Bad As It Could Have Been.”

  1. Rissa says:

    Ouch 😦 I feel like giving you a big hug – that’s just an awful thing to go through. And your words! I got a pain in my chest trying to imagine my ‘bottom drawer’ scribblings being stolen. I’m inspired by your positive approach though – you’ve turned a trauma into the chance to warn others and look on the brighter side where possible. I hope the insurance and etc comes through with minimal fuss. And I’m sure new words will flow to replace and surpass those stolen. Thanks for sharing xo

    • Aw, thanks for the hug, Rissa 🙂 I really learned some valuable lessons from this experience and I decided after a few days of surging emotions that I wasn’t going to wallow in the negativity of it all. If truth be told, I do actually find it quite hard to remain in a despondent state, which I will declare a good thing! Thanks for reading and for your kind comments x

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about this Rebecca, I’m both a musician and a new dad, so I feel your pain with losing your creative work and your cherished photos/videos of your son. In terms of other hints and tips to share with readers, something I started to do a while ago (after family and friends lost everything in house fires) was to have two back up hard drives (three copies of all data files) and to keep one of those backup drives at home and one somewhere else in a completely different location away from home. I hope this tip is helpful to those reading this, thanks for sharing your story and I too am inspired by your positive outlook. x

    • Hi Andrew. Thanks so much for your comments and for the excellent advice of keeping a back up drive off property. I will certainly be doing this as well. Kind regards, Rebecca

Leave a Reply

