A Year Compressed

Wow, we’re halfway through 2013 already. Anyone want to hazard a guess as to why I refer to this as my ’oft neglected’ blog?

I’ve been in Melbourne for almost a year now and am going to attempt to compress a year of writing updates into a few paragraphs.

So, I’ve just hit send on the last assignment of Semester One of the Masters of Creative Writing I commenced this year through Macquarie University. I’m really pleased I enrolled (and also pleased I was accepted as, due to a lack of a prerequisite Bachelor Degree, I was asked to submit a portfolio of work to prove I was ’up to standard’).

As well as focusing in a lot more depth on the usual aspects of craft, my studies have taught me a couple of interesting things:

1.  Discipline. The bane of my writerly existence! I have been forced to write to tight weekly deadlines, which has been good for the heavy streak of procrastination that lurks within. I have been craving discipline.

2.  That said, writing to deadlines has hampered my creativity a little. By this, I mean that the autopilot state I usually am able to slide into seems to have abandoned me a little when I write under the pressure of assessment and deadline. Does this happen to anyone else? I can feel my muse hovering, but it’s like he is at a formal cocktail party filled with chaste strangers rather than swilling bourbon among friends. In other words, I need to relax a bit more and so does my muse (you got that?!).

Anyway, my marks have been in good shape so far, so hopefully my writing muscle will be honed through discipline and the autopilot will kick back in once I r-e-l-a-x.

Publication-wise, I’ve had two stories come out in the first half of the year, appearing in speculative fiction anthologies.

The award-winning UK literary magazine Polluto picked up my cyberpunk piece Just Another City Night, 2086. This issue runs the theme of wage, slave, orgy, and is packed full of the dark, twisted and just plain weird.

polluto

Future Cycle Press published my short story Don’t Hate Me Cause I’m Beautiful in their 2012 Anthology

FutureCycle 2012 Anthology

I only have one story out in the market place at the moment, which is with Ellen Datlow’s Fearful Symmetries. I am Number 822 in the submissions queue! I am not expecting a favourable outcome, but that’s cool, I can handle being rejected by Ellen 🙂

I interviewed horror writer, Matthew Tait, for the GC Speckies blog last month. One of the reasons I love social media is that it connects you with a lot of people that you would otherwise never get to rub shoulders with. Cyber shoulders are a great substitute! There’s not much Matthew doesn’t know about my beloved horror genre, so check out his insights here.

Ok, that’s about it, I think. A year compressed. I do have an exciting announcement about a project that I am very proud to be a part of, but I’ll save that for another post.

In the meantime, happy writing, happy reading and, of course, happy days 🙂

Rebecca Fraser

About Rebecca Fraser

Rebecca Fraser is a full time copy and content writer and part time speculative fiction author based on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula. Her dark short stories, poems, and flash fiction have appeared in various anthologies, magazines and journals since 2007. Rebecca holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and a Certificate of Publishing (Copy Editing and Proofreading). To provide her muse with life’s essentials, she supplements by freelancing for the corporate world, however her true passion lies in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

