Girl, Interrupted.

That’s me, or the writer in me at least. That’s how I feel today anyway when I look at the calendar and realise we’re at the wrong end of April.

At the end of last year I sat down and wrote out my writing goals for this year. They weren’t too unrealistic. 2012 was supposed to be the “year-of-completing-the-first-draft-of-exciting-new-YA-manuscript.” Hey, I have hopes it still will be, but I’m badly off course with my word count. I’m blaming life. It just interrupts. You know what I mean.

What do you do when life gets in the way of your writing time? I say, roll with it! I have heard many schools of thought on this – from getting up at 4am to get your word count down; shutting yourself away from family and friends to meet your target, irrespective of social commitments; or checking in to a hotel for the weekend from some undistracted serious writing time.

If any of these methods work for you, that’s fantastic. I admire your commitment and tenacity to get the job done (and secretly wish I had a little more of it in me). This year though, in spite of my pathetic looking goal checklist, I am going to skip the self flagellation and just keep moving forward, interruptions and all. After all, it’s the interruptions life throws at us that shape us as better writers.

On reflection though, this year has still had its fair share of valuable writerly activity, even if it hasn’t added to the word count:

– I have two short story submissions out in the marketplace at the moment (let the waiting game continue).

– In February I attended a workshop with the uber talented Kelly Link at the Queensland Writer’s Centre on “Exploring the Supernatural”

– My writers group, Prana Writers, is going strong in their fourth year. We’re due to meet up again this Saturday.

– This year, I also became a foundation member of the GC Speckies, a Gold Coast based group for writers and fans of Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror. The Group was the brainchild of spec fic author and all round top chick, Vacen Taylor. If you live in the Gold Coast and have been looking for a group of like minded people to share good coffee and good conversation with, drop me a line. We meet on the third Sunday of every month.

It’s all these little things that keep motivation on track and help keep your mindset positive when you’re despairing over your lack of productivity.

So if, like me, you’re a Writer Interrupted, my advice to you is to keep up your networking, keep up your craft development, and keep rubbing shoulders with the writing community – it’s all fuel for your muse, interruptions and all.

In the meantime, happy writing, happy reading, and of course, happy days.

Rebecca Fraser 🙂

About Rebecca Fraser

Rebecca Fraser is a full time copy and content writer and part time speculative fiction author based on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula. Her dark short stories, poems, and flash fiction have appeared in various anthologies, magazines and journals since 2007. Rebecca holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and a Certificate of Publishing (Copy Editing and Proofreading). To provide her muse with life’s essentials, she supplements by freelancing for the corporate world, however her true passion lies in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

