The “Write” Group For Me

I’m seeing someone. Well, more like ten people actually. I have been for a while now. It’s been three years. We get together every couple of months. My husband knows … and he fully approves.

Were you thinking indecent thoughts? Shame on you! It’s just my Writers’ Group. And I think it’s time you knew all about them. 🙂

The Prana Writers has a bit of a history for a rather young group. Back in 2009, the Gold Coast City Council selected sixteen emerging writers to participate in a workshop series mentored by award-winning Fantasy author, Louise Cusack, based on assessment of demonstrated literary merit.

We had an amazing year. We learned so much about our writing and ourselves. Our craft strengthened and so did our ability to block our inner critics. We laughed a lot, sometimes we cried, and along the way came to realise that we were more than writers getting together every few months. We liked each other too.

In 2010 year we were accepted for a Regional Arts Development Fund to continue Louise’s mentorship for a series of editing workshops. We had a few less in the group by then, but the dynamic was unchanged.

The Prana Writers have come into our own this year as a solid group of eleven. We still meet every few months, and I am so honoured to be part of this special group of talented people. Perhaps the planets were aligned in just the right way when we all got together three years ago, but it is rare to find a group of people with such different personalities and interests that get along so well.

We are a mixed bunch indeed, with a genre-blend of speculative, crime, romance, drama, literary, children’s fantasy, and young adult fiction.

If you are going it alone in the writing world and feel like you need to be surrounded by like minded people, I would strongly recommend tracking down a Writers’ Group that is right for you in your area.

What will you get out of it? Well, here’s what Prana Writers gives me:

  • Motivation – when I have been using one of my many procrastination tools, I have my fellow writers to give me a good kick up the backside.
  • Confidence – sometimes it’s hard to believe in yourself when your inner critic is making you doubt your plot, characters, themes. Sometimes you need to hear from people whose opinions you trust that you “write good”.
  • Critiquing – Imagine having ten talented writers critique your work for free. Pretty handy, huh?
  • Inspiration – the creative energy when we get together is electrifying. Additionally, there is nothing to keep you striving for your own goals when you hear about everybody’s successes and milestones.
  • Ongoing Professional Development – We are our very own talent pool. Each of us gives workshops on our areas of expertise. For example, so far this year we have had presentations on screen writing, building an online presence, and novel structure. Coming up we have e-book publishing, making our own book trailer, and in October I, with fellow Prana Writer, Helen Stubbs, will be running a short story workshop.
  • Guest Speakers – We have had Rowena Cory Daniells, Sheryl Gwyther, Sarah Armstrong. At our next meeting we have Katherine Howell. Pretty cool, huh?!
  • Support – This is priceless. We are all so genuinely supportive of each other and have a desire to see each other succeed and reach our individual goals. Life happens. Shit happens, too. When one of us is going through bad times, we all know the devastating effect this can have on ones writing and headspace.
  • Friendship – We laugh a lot. We eat muffins. We catch up randomly. Sometimes we go to the pub. ‘Nuff said

I firmly believe the support, critique, feedback, energy and strength I get from my friends, even if it’s only a few times a year, contributes greatly to keeping my dream alive and my goals on track.

So, without sounding too sappy – this one goes out to you, Prana Writers. You’re the “Write Group” for me.

Happy writing, happy reading and happy days 🙂

Rebecca Fraser

About Rebecca Fraser

Rebecca Fraser is a full time copy and content writer and part time speculative fiction author based on Victoria’s Mornington Peninsula. Her dark short stories, poems, and flash fiction have appeared in various anthologies, magazines and journals since 2007. Rebecca holds a Master of Arts in Creative Writing and a Certificate of Publishing (Copy Editing and Proofreading). To provide her muse with life’s essentials, she supplements by freelancing for the corporate world, however her true passion lies in storytelling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The “Write” Group For Me

  1. “Here, here,” says the girl from the back row.
    I couldn’t agree with you more.
    Nicola

  2. helenstubbs says:

    Thanks, Beck. This is a beautiful post.

  3. Thank you, Rebecca. (A little tear running down my cheek…) The Prana Writers – a safe and nurturing fold of friends with a common goal and an honest desire to see each other succeed.

  4. Angela Sunde says:

    That last comment was from Angela

  5. Great post, Rebecca. I wouldn’t be where I am today without my group. I’ve been with them for over 10 years and the relationship I’ve built with them is priceless. We’ve also become great friends and have been through a lot together outside of writing, which I think makes our critque group even stronger. We also go on an annual writers retreat which is heaps of fun and very inspirational.

    • Thanks, Danielle. Fortunate are we that have the support of a wonderful group! An annual writer’s retreat sounds amazing … I must put that one to Prana Writers.Take care and happy writing, and thanks so much for dropping by 🙂

  6. Rebecca, you made me realise again how lucky I was to be part of the group selected back in 2009 – we are all so fortunate. Thank you for making me feel so chuffed. Amanda

Leave a Reply

